Search

Key Dates for the 2022 General Assembly Session

Note: Dates are pending approval of the 2022 Session procedural resolution.

Monday, November 15
Prefiling begins
Thursday, December 16
Governor presents Budget Bill
(UVA report will follow)
Wednesday, January 12
Session convenes
Prefiling ends at 10:00 a.m.
Last day to file legislation creating or continuing a study
Friday, January 14
Last day to introduce budget amendments
Saturday, January 15
Inauguration
Friday, January 21
Bill cut-off (last day to introduce bills and certain joint resolutions)
Tuesday, February 15
Crossover (last day for each house to act on its own legislation,
except Budget Bills)
Sunday, February 20
House Appropriations and Senate Finance & Appropriations
Committees to complete action on Budget Bills
(UVA report will follow)
Tuesday, February 22
Amendments to Budget Bills available
Thursday, February 24
Houses of origin to complete action on Budget Bills
Wednesday, March 2
Last day to act on Budget Bills and revenue bills of
other house and appoint conferees
Monday, March 7
Last day for committee action on remaining bills
Thursday, March 10
Last day to act on remaining bills and appoint conferees
Saturday, March 12
Session adjourns sine die
Monday, April 11
Last day for Governor's action on legislation
Wednesday, April 27
Reconvened session
Friday, July 1
Effective date of enacted legislation