Search

Key Dates for the 2020 General Assembly Session

The following dates are preliminary and may change pending the adoption of the 2020 Session Calendar by the General Assembly:

Monday, November 18
Prefiling begins
Tuesday, December 17
Governor presents the 2020-2022 budget (UVA report will follow)
Thursday, December 19
UVA Community Legislative Forum
Wednesday, January 8
Session convenes
Prefiling ends at 10:00 a.m.
Last day to file legislation creating or continuing a study
Friday, January 17
Bill cut-off (last day to introduce bills and certain joint resolutions)
Tuesday, February 11
Crossover (last day for each house to act on its own legislation, excluding budget)
Sunday, February 16
Money committees to complete action on budget bill
Tuesday, February 18
Amendments to budget bill available by noon
Thursday, February 20
Houses of origin to complete action on budget bill
Wednesday, February 26
Last day to act on budget bills and revenue bills of other house and appoint
budget conferees by midnight
Thursday, March 5
Last day to act on remaining bills and appoint conferees by midnight
Saturday, March 7
Session adjourns sine die
Monday, April 6
Last day for Governor's action on legislation by midnight
Wednesday, April 15/22
Reconvened session
Wednesday, July 1
Effective date of enacted legislation